Subject to Criminal Investigation

Thursday I was on the living room floor de-cluttering, sorting through a box of documents as my parents, always watchful for people coming and going in the neighborhood, began to discuss a couple of cars pulling in behind our house. “They are getting out. There are three people. They are coming around to the front door”. Dad went to the door. They asked for Luke Myers. Dad said I was at home. They asked to come in. Three detectives in body armor walked in. They refused to take a seat, said they were from the Casa Grande police department, and appeared to be in a very serious mood. After confirming I was Luke Myers, they asked to speak with me alone. When asked for explanation, they again suggested I step aside to speak alone. I didn’t feel like a private interview, and wanted my parents to hear whatever was to be said, so the detectives agreed to proceed.

A theater in Casa Grande reported that someone had been purchased gift cards online with stolen credit card info. The IP address the theater had logged was controlled by my Internet Service Provider (ISP). In response to a subpoena, my ISP said the subscriber corresponding to that IP address was their customer Luke Myers.

The detectives asked whether anyone else had used my computer, whether anyone else had used my wireless, and they asked to search my room, our office, for the theater’s gift cards. I was unsure how to answer. After all, there are 10,000 ways for me to unknowingly implicate myself. Would consenting to a search be taking another brick from the foundation of civil liberty and government accountability? Dad helped me decide by urging me to consent. I consented and they searched.

After at searching for at least a half hour, finding nothing, and then brainstorming for another thirty minutes about who might have committed the fraud, the detectives thanked us and left. I left with the following takeaway: when civil authorities fulfill their rightful roles of punishing evildoers and praising them that do well (2 Peter 1:19),

1.) It is good to convince a court of your innocence, and better to convince an investigator,

2.) There is no harm in letting the law come to you. There is no necessity in advancing to meet it or attempting elude it. “If the spirit of the ruler rise up against thee, leave not thy place; for yielding pacifieth great offences.” Ecclesiates 10:4, and

3.) it now seems necessary, unfortunately, to lock down your wireless networks, allowing only explicitly authorized users whom you can reasonably trust.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Subject to Criminal Investigation

  1. Carrie says:

    Hi Luke and family! Thanks for sharing about this situation. It may be helpful to another some day who finds him/herself in a similar situation. Hope you are all well and enjoying each day the Lord blesses you with together.

Leave a Reply

